Skip to content ↓
  • Inspiring Individuals
  • Empowering Minds
  • Defining Futures

Computing IT

Subject: ICT & Computer Science
Contact: Mrs Hyland



Students study the Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology.  This qualification is designed to support students who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not just necessarily in IT.  Students complete four units of which three are mandatory and two are external.  Mandatory content is 83% and external assessment is 58%.

Curriculum content


Term 1

Term 2

Term 3

Year 12

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

Finish Unit 3 and Start skills building for Unit 2: Creating systems to manage Information

Complete Unit 2 External Assessment.

Year 13

Unit 6: Website development.  Start revision for Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Continue to work on and complete Unit 6: Website development.  Revision and Exam practice for Unit 1.

Revision and Exam practice for Unit 1. 


Assessment components



Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

  • Written paper
  • Two hours

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

  • A task set and marked by exam board and completed unit supervised conditions.
  • The supervised assessment period is ten hours arranged over a number of sessions in a 1 week assessment period timetabled by the exam board.

Enrichment opportunities:

ICT and Computer Science catch-up sessions every Monday at lunchtime and Tuesdays after school.